top of page

Fraulein Kink: Original Sin


This post is going to have some similar themes as the last. Like Bordelle, Fraulein Kink is a bondage inspired lingerie, bondage, and accessories brand, and like the collections discussed in the Bordelle post, I'm going to be focusing on a collection inspired by a culture. Still, there are differences. The Original Sin collection by Fraulein Kink is inspired by Catholicism and Catholic art but unlike the Amaya collection from Bordelle, it is not culturally appropriative. I've been seeing a lot of discussion online about this topic this past week with the passing of this year's Met Ball. The theme was Heavenly Bodies, inspired by Catholic art. People were saying that the theme was "disgraceful" and "offensive" to Catholics, which of course is ridiculous. Not to get too snarky but I imagine that these people are Catholics themselves and would say that cultural appropriation of any culture other than their own is simply "cultural appreciation".

Cultural appropriation is the use of imagery of cultures by the dominant culture to put on as a costume or fashion statement with the privilege of taking it off and not facing any of the oppression members of the appropriated cultures face. As a group of people who have colonized countless countries, have been at the top of the social class for centuries, and have overall not faced discrimination and oppression due to their Catholicism, using Catholic imagery is not cultural appropriation.

Now let's get into the fun stuff! Fraulein Kink is a German fetish-wear brand that specializes in high-quality leather garments that can be worn in and outside the bedroom. Every item by Fraulein Kink is handmade to order from their studio in Berlin. I've been following their work for quite a few years now and I've always found their fetish collections to be more interesting than most other brands on the market. For some reason though, I hadn't checked up on them in a while and when I did, I was blown away.

I wanted to see their latest collection and when I saw their spring line, Original Sin, I literally said to myself "holy moly, guacamole", which I suppose is appropriate given the religious theme.

This line is even more luxe than their other collections, and anything else I've seen from them (well aside from the hand-beaded lace top). All the pieces from this collection are made from laser-cut leather and so intricate and beautiful it's almost unbelievable. I look at a lot of lingerie for fun, and as a blogger, and this is truly one of the most beautiful collections I've come across in a while.

Though despite how incredible these pieces are, there are some downsides that I have to mention. The first is how expensive the line is, which makes sense given the materials used and the amount of work and skill go into making them. Pieces start at €79 ($94USD/$120CAD) for pasties to €759 ($905USD/$1158CAD) for a waist belt with attached garters. The second downside is the small size range. Most pieces are either made in S/M or M/L and I haven't found any indication on their website that they can make sizes custom beyond this range. It's a shame because only a small group of people can wear these sizes and it cuts off an entire base of customers who may want to purchase luxury fetishwear.

This collection not only features lingerie, but also bondage accessories like handcuffs, masks, rope, collars, crops, gloves, gags, and leashes, that are not only gorgeous, but fully functional fetish accessories. Honestly though, I'd be afraid to use a lot of these for fear of breaking them!

I hope you found this collection as wonderful as I do and let me know what you think in the comments! Also I've added more lookbook photos below to drool over.

bottom of page