top of page

Interview with Vanessa of Alexandrea Anissa!


Alexandra Anissa Crimson lace bralette and thong

I'm so excited to bring this interview to the blog! I've been following Alexandrea Anissa's work for years and I've always been taken by their unique designs, prints, and dreamy look book shoots. The brand is run by Vanessa Villarreal, who launched it in 2013 after graduating from the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising in San Francisco. Villarreal had been making garments for years prior to her studies, but lingerie is something that interested her beyond just creating it. Lingerie became a part of her body acceptance journey and through past struggles, she was able to create something positive and creative for herself, and for other people. To Villarreal, lingerie isn't just to wear under clothes, it's something that people wear to feel beautiful, sexy, and overall positive about their bodies. She designs and sews every garment herself and sizes run from XXS to 5X, along with custom and bespoke services.

Villarreal also runs a blog about her love of lingerie, Cheeky Thrills! Check it out after you read this interview!

Villarreal's workspace, circa 2016.

Bustles & Bullets: What's your fashion background and how did you first become interested in lingerie?

Vanessa Villarreal: Well I started sewing when I was 7 years old. I was obsessed with Britney Spears and the Spice Girls and everything they wore. My admiration for their on-stage style inspired me to pursue a career in fashion. As soon as I graduated high school I attended the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising (FIDM) in San Francisco, CA and 5 years later I graduated with my AA in Fashion Design. Ever since then I’ve just been freelancing off and on for other small businesses in the Bay Area while managing my own. I guess I first became interested in lingerie through Britney Spears and the Spice Girls. I just loved everything they wore and wanted all their outfits for myself.

BB: What was the first lingerie you bought and how did it make you feel?

VV: The first piece of lingerie I ever purchased was probably a $2 or $3 organza ribbon string thong. I think I bought it at PacSun or something. It was a sheer yellow with pink watercolour roses printed all over it. It had ruffled organza hems and the back of the thong even had a huge pink organza rose sewn on to it. As much as I loved it, it was the most incredibly uncomfortable and itchy thong I ever wore. Eventually I just tossed it.

BB: What was the inspiration behind creating Alexandrea Anissa and its aesthetic?

VV: My inspiration behind Alexandrea Anissa comes from wanting to be my ultimate true self. When I was younger, I basically wanted to be everyone else but me. I hated every inch of my body and was dying to crawl out my skin and get underneath someone else’s. As I got older I realized we are all already somebody but most of us just don’t realize it yet. So now my mission is to help women including myself rediscover the power of being their own unique creation and embracing it to the fullest. My brand, Alexandrea Anissa is everything I ever hope to be. It is all the good and the bad put together. I like to think of it as a beautiful disaster.

Alexandrea Anissa Fawn bralette.

BB: Is there a certain range from your collection that's your favourite?

VV: Umm.. that’s a hard one! I love each and every piece so much. They all have their own unique story and emotions behind them. I guess if I had to choose one I’d have to say my Sheena collection from 2013. It was everything I ever wanted it to be. Girly with a hint of punk. It was my favourite colour combo of pink and black with a pop of vibrant florals. I believe that collection helped me put my foot in the door for the lingerie industry and community.

BB: Do you have a background in business, or did you know anything about running your own business before opening up your own brand?

VV: I wish I had a background in business! All I know and what I know is from working with other small businesses freelancing or from friends, family and colleagues. Most of the successful people I met say you can learn everything you need to know by reading books. So that’s what I did and continue to do. I read books, I do tons of online research and of course everything and I mean everything is trial and error. I believe that’s the best way to learn. Nowadays the internet can you tell you how do everything and anything. Even my 7 year old baby sister knows how to make a Facebook account. Like what, how? You’re 7 years old. It’s so crazy to me!

BB: Do you normally buy your own lingerie from indie brands?

VV: I do! Of course I have to save up for it though. I wish I had an infinite disposable income so I could buy all the indie brand lingerie.

BB: How much of your own personal lingerie is from your brand?

VV: I’d say about 1/3 of it. I wish it was more! A lot of people think because I make heaps of lingerie for a living, I own one of every piece but that’s never the case. I don’t know if it’s just me, but I don’t put myself first when it comes to my small business. When I design a new collection or whatever I’m thinking of my customer, not me. I usually come after when I’m sewing an order and I’m like OMG this is so cute, can I fit into it, does it come in my size?

Alexandrea Anissa Ramona mesh crop top.

BB: You celebrated four years of Alexandrea Anissa Lingerie last year, what were some of the milestones of your lingerie career so far?

VV: I did and it was an amazing four years. Lots of ups and downs and so much transformation. Some of my milestones include actually starting a small business and making it this far without fucking up, having my brand mentioned in well known publications, getting published in a book (The Lingerie Yearbook), having my lingerie be sold in stores over seas in Japan year after year, having a classroom where I specifically teach, actually teaching for a living and having my first fashion show. I seriously could go on and on.

BB: Speaking of the fashion show, what did organizing that entail?

VV: I did but with the help of my family, friends and fans. I am seriously forever grateful for all of them. I honestly don’t think I was as organized for the fashion show as I had hoped to be but most of the work included pattern making, sewing, finding the models, sewing, choosing the music, putting together the model’s looks, more sewing, marketing and even more sewing. It was honestly so overwhelming. It made me realize I can’t do everything myself.

BB: What are your plans for the brand in the coming year and in the next few years to follow?

VV: I am planning on focusing on my teaching. I’d love to travel and teach sewing classes around the world. I am also planning on finally expanding my team so I can focus more on designing. In the next few years I plan to have my own sewing studio, possibly a small retail store and have my sewing patterns available at retailers around the world. I don’t want to give too much away but amazing things are in the works.

Alexandra Anissa Catalina bra.

bottom of page