top of page

New Gigi's Lookbook


Wearing Bettie Page Lingerie by Playful Promises bra and garter belt, What Katie Did stockings, and true vintage knickers.

Before I fell prey to the infection I caught last month, I did a shoot for Gigi's House of Frills's new stock, including true-vintage and vintage inspired lingerie. Like our previous shoot at the end of 2016, we were going for a gritty 1950s pinup look where models mostly posed in front of curtains and other simpler backdrops, that allow the viewer to focus on the model. Many pinup shoots like these back in the day were not high-budget productions, as many of these shoots were illegal at the time.

This time, we took our inspiration from another Irving Klaw regular, Jackie Miller. I did my hair and makeup for this shoot and I think I did Ms. Miller's signature 'do justice, if I say so myself. On another note, if you want me to do a post about doing my hair and makeup for shoots, let me know in the comments!

Wearing head to toe true vintage.

This was such a fun shoot because I got to geek out over some really amazing true vintage lingerie, like the pieces I'm wearing above. The fringe on the top of the bottom is actually a string and not sewn into those knickers. The bralette itself is such a gorgeous, unique piece and I'm so thrilled that it fit me. Pieces like these are often hard to find in larger sizes. I didn't get a look at the label on these pieces, but they look like something out of a 1950s Fredrick's of Hollywood catalogue!

Another inspiration for this shoot that we found along the way was animal print. Julia (the owner and photographer) realized she had got in a lot of animal print knickers, a lot of cheetah and some giraffe! We tried to work the styling around showcasing these pieces.

Wearing What Katie Did lingerie and stockings and Bettie Page by Playful Promises suspender.

I was also so excited to try on What Katie Did's new Pink Satine collection, which had just come in. I'm very picky about my pinks when it comes to lingerie. It can either be my favourite shade for lingerie, or I could be repelled by it depending on the shade and style of the lingerie. I also usually avoid hot pink lingerie, it just isn't my style. But these pieces are gorgeous, even more so in person. There's a beautiful richness to the colour, and I think this effect is amplified by the satin. It doesn't scream "tacky" to me. I'm wearing the bra in a 32F and I did find it to be a bit tight, which was confusing at the time as WKD bras usually fit me well. But then I got my period two days later, which explains that! But it isn't a bra that's great to wear around when your period comes if your breasts swell because there isn't much stretch. I also had to size up in the Playful Promises bra for this reason!

I'm also very into the new colourways from Playful Promises's Bettie Page line. Inspired by the queen of pinup herself, this mini collection is pinup model perfection. The leopard and teal are beautiful additions to the line and I'm very excited for new releases from them. I saw the cutest vintage-inspired bodysuit in one of their Instagram stories a few months back!

I've posted some of these on my Instagram already, and so has Gigi, but I wanted to share more of my favourite shots here! Let me know what you think in the comments!

bottom of page