top of page

Adina Reay "Sam" Set


Hello everyone, sorry for the delay in posts! I had been working on a few posts last month to publish when I was struck with a gross bronchial infection and fever that wouldn't break. It's also a very busy time in school unfortunately. I'm hoping to get back to posting more next month when this term is over.

Anyhow, I do have a lot to go over from lingerie reviews, to photo shoots, to wish lists, to topics I would love to find more research on, so let's get into it! I want to get into talking about the beautiful Sam set by Adina Reay, who were kind enough to send it to me. However, all opinions are my own an uninfluenced by the brand. I've written about them before, they create luxury full-bust lingerie and are based in the UK. What's nice about their bras is that the strap size is the same across the board, from their smallest size (28DD) to their largest (36G). This is a big deal for fuller busts because many bras rely more on their straps to hold up heavier breasts, and Adina Reay's bras have to have more structure and support in the cup for F or G cups.

In this set, I'm wearing the Sam bra in a 32F, my true size (£90, $125usd, $163cad) and short in a medium (£70, $98usd, $126cad). I have to say that while I found the bra a bit uncomfortable the first and second times wearing it, it's become one of my go-to bras. It seems to be one of those pieces that you need to break in a bit. The bra is a plunge style and I always find them harder to adjust to because I usually wear balconette or full-cup bras. My sternum is a bit sensitive to the wires and the gore having less fabric in these styles. Another thing that took a bit of getting used to was the vertical boning on the band where the lace meets the powermesh. I've always found this is something I need to get used to with bras, I find it digs into my sides during the first few wears. However, I hardly notice it anymore.

The cups appear to be a four-part cut from the exterior, but it's likely that there are more components to the cup and a sling based on the fit, but these interior details are covered by a lovely feeling satin. This is a nice luxe touch that feels nice against the skin and makes the bra look beautiful on the inside as well as the outside. The lace is incredibly unusual and interesting and reminds me of a Pollock painting or an abstract wire sculpture, to compare lingerie it to other arts.

Overall, I'm quite happy with the fit of the bra as well, it fits comfortably and is supportive. I didn't notice any fit issues and like the Fran bra, it fits my true bra size perfectly and I didn't need a different size.

The knickers are quite fabulous, though you can't see the front of them in this photo, I wanted to show the hooks and eyes on them. While they are beautiful, I often forgot about the hooks while I was wearing them and it can be a bit cumbersome when you're trying to take them off and put them on again. It does take a bit longer to get in and out of them than regular bottoms. Despite this, I found them quite comfortable to wear during the day. I often find that I'm uncomfortable wearing high-waisted bottoms with regular waisted pants, but these were fine. I barely noticed that they were a few inches higher than my pants.

I'm wearing these in a medium in the photos and they fit nicely, but I seem to be in between sizes in them. They're a little larger than what I usually wear and they have a lot of stretch. They're sort of like the Fran short's cousin in terms of looks, but these do fit a bit larger than those. Regardless, I would personally my knickers be looser than tighter (I hate when they're too small!).

Other than being a bit big, I found the briefs to be very comfortable. The mesh is soft and the lace isn't scratchy flat against the skin and the gusset is just the right size. I hate small gussets, they give what I like to call "vagina wedgies". In terms of style, I'd recommend these because they're unusual looking and I like how Adina Reay used negative space with the cut outs. Also the keyhole cutout is so cute! But then again, high waisted bottoms aren't for everyone, I know people who can't stand them. But I like the retro look of them and how they cover my stomach more than a regular brief.

All in all, I'm very impressed with this set and it worked out perfectly for me and my needs. I've heard that Adina Reay's fit in bras is across the board in different styles and from season to season, but I've always found them to fit my body really well and I don't have too many complaints other than some minor gripes (but nothing is perfect!).

What do you think of this set? Let me know in the comments!

bottom of page