top of page

Personal Update!


Hey everyone! I thought I'd update folks about what's going on in my life right now and why I haven't really been posting much recently. In my muggle life, I have just finished the first month of my Master's degree and it was TIRING! I just finished my BA a few weeks before but I hadn't had a full schedule of classes in a few years. I'd always managed to arrange my schedule so that I'd only be on campus a few days a week. Last fall, I only had classes twice a week, and in the winter term I was only on campus once a week.

Not to say that I didn't have work to do, but commuting to classes four times a week along with hundreds of pages of readings and the constant stream of writing papers and giving presentations has been difficult to adjust to. I think I'm starting to get the hang of it now but it's been more challenging that I thought it would be. But these things are always a big adjustment, I forgot how much I had to ease into my undergrad schedule.

For those of you who are curious, I'm currently studying film preservation and collections management here in Toronto and it's been very interesting so far! I've always been very interested in early and silent cinema and we have the opportunity to study that a lot here. We also do an internship and residency for this program and I'm hoping to get into an amazing institution in LA. That would also be fun because there are so many talented people out there who I'd love to work with.

Anyway, that's what's going on and why I haven't been updating the blog as much as usual. I'm going to try to be better about it though! I have a week off next week and hopefully I can write a post or two during that time. I do have three assignments I have to work on but I'll try to squeeze some time in for the blog. I am doing a lot of interesting research about lost films and the formation of the star system, so if you're interested in that, I can write about it on here too!

Thanks for reading!

Holly <3

bottom of page