top of page

Custom designing with Underneath Lingerie


I've been anxiously waiting to write this post because I was so excited but I didn't want to write about this brand without actually having their lingerie on hand. I discovered Underneath Lingerie on Instagram, the place where I seem to be finding most of the brands I've gotten really into lately. What really drew me into their work was the little rosettes on some of their pieces and the sheer cap-sleeve straps that I hadn't seen on bras before.

Underneath Lingerie is based in The Netherlands and puts an emphasis on retro silhouettes and making them wearable in the 21st century. They don't use underwires in their bras, like pieces from the midcentury still often didn't, but are still structured and provide a good amount of support. My favourite thing about the brand aside from its vintage inspiration is the mix-and-match function.

A few other lingerie brands have customizable options, but this was my first time making a lingerie set purely to my specifications from the shape of the bra/knicker/garter to the fabrics used and where. It was one of my favourite lingerie buying experiences and I had so much fun doing it.

There are a few different options to choose from for bras, bottoms and suspenders and the website allows you to choose what you'd like to customize in what ever order you choose. I personally started with the bra because bras are usually my favourite part of a lingerie set. I knew I wanted those adorable rosettes on my set and I wanted lots of them!

My choices for the bra, I went with the pink flower mesh as my main fabric on the cups and wings with pink lace as an accent at the top of the cups with two adorable bows on the straps! The straps I got do have mesh on them which isn't an option online yet but can be requested.

I went with the longline BH8 style with a four-hook closure and this style has the option of being padded. I don't really like extra padding so I didn't take advantage of this, but I like this style because of the plunge in the cups as opposed to a balconette style. This style also has the option of adding lace and I thought pink lace would look adorable with the pink mesh rosette fabric I wanted to use (it does!). The sizing is European so you may want to look up a converter before you order so you know exactly what you're getting. But Underneath does have a good size range for bands, they go from a 28-48 but it would be nice to see larger cup sizes in the future.

The full set of customizable options for the bra

I ordered my sister-size 70E (34E) and I really like the way it fits, it gives me a good amount of support and gives me a nice amount of cleavage. The band is snug, which is my preference, and it gives a good amount of support along with the mesh cup which has some moulding. The straps are inspired by vintage bras and the extenders are at the front, which is a nice touch.

My choices for the briefs, I went with the pink flower mesh for the front and the plain pink as an accent on the hips and bum.

I went with a full brief (because I find thongs uncomfortable) and I chose the adorable low H7 style because I love the gatherings on the hips and the bum and also because I knew I wanted a high-waisted suspender and figured a lower rise brief would be easier to wear with it. The briefs like the bras come in a wide size selection, but still in European numbered sizing. They range from XS-4X and all sizes can be made custom if you find yourself out of their size range online by sending a quick email. I went with a 38 or medium and I find them to be very comfortable. I could have sized down but I personally prefer my knickers to be a little bigger than smaller.

My choices for the suspender to match the rest of the set, and of course I chose to have as many bows as possible!

Lastly I chose the suspender belt I wanted and I went with J3, a six-strap belt that has a closure with seven hooks and provides some shaping. I went with this style in particular because I like the curved hip panels and in person, they appear triangular which I like. It gives me a bit of a deco throwback and I used these panels as accents with plain pink mesh. The rest of the belt is the main fabric I chose with the pink flowers.

The final set turned out even more beautifully than I could have thought! I think of this now as my Sleeping Beauty lingerie because it feels like something she would wear and it makes me feel like a Disney princess when I wear it. I have no fit concerns when it comes to this set, everything fits wonderfully and feels comfortable and supportive. I'm even a bit bloated today so it's nice that this set is still comfortable! The fabric is all polyester and is actually quite soft and feels lovely against the skin. I love the colour too, it's the perfect baby pink that I'm obsessed with.

One more fun thing about Underneath is that they'll stitch your name on the inside of the band, making each and every bra a unique and personal piece. It's such a sweet touch that I think is just adorable.

I'm really happy with this set and I can't wait to add it to my regular lingerie rotation and take some pretty pictures in it!

What do you think of Underneath Lingerie? Let me know in the comments!

bottom of page