top of page

Miss LaLa Presents: Chocolate Box and Les Patisseries De Lala


If you read my post last week about Miss LaLa Presents, you'll remember that I said that I ordered two sets and was waiting for them to arrive. They came very quickly but I'm just posting now because it's been an incredibly busy week for me with work and sorting out paperwork for my graduate program starting next week. But these goodies were a nice little treat to myself during a stressful time! I'm also excited to write this piece because I've gotten numerous questions about Miss LaLa Presents this week both online and in person.

While the designer, Fine Rees (pronounced Feena) and the company are based in the UK, the pieces shipped from Denmark very quickly. I ordered them last Thursday and they were supposed to arrive on Monday this week. I unfortunately had an issue with Canada Post which delayed me from getting the package until the day after. They claimed on the online tracking that they had to double check my address (even though I provided the right information for my shipping address and I assume Miss LaLa can transfer that information on to a package) though I suspect that the driver didn't have the machine that allows you to sign for packages so they just didn't drop it off (something similar happened to me with Canada Post about a year ago). But it came on Tuesday and it's absolutely worth the wait!

The lingerie arrived in a gorgeous box that unfortunately got dented during shipping, which did break my heart a little. I didn't take a photo of it for this reason but it's like a beautiful candy coloured confection with a large pinup gal on the front that makes opening the package even more exciting.

I got two sets, the Chocolate Box set and the Les Patisseries De Lala set in turquoise, and I got both bras in a 36D and the Chocolate Box high-waist brief in a large and the Les Patisseries De Lala brief in my usual size, medium. The Chocolate Box bra is £85 and the brief is £70 and the Les Patisseries De Lala bra is £35 and the brief is £20.

The bras fit nicely in the cup, my breast tissue fills it out and the underwires support it fully to my armpit, but the band is a bit big. Rees did ask if I wanted the 36D because she thought the band would be big and I thought it would be okay, but maybe I should have listened! The cup may have fit a bit differently though and I'm happy with the way the cup fits on both bras. Chocolate Box does fit a bit bigger than Les Patisseries De Lala, but I can comfortably wear both on the tightest hook and I can take in the band later on if it stretches out.

The Chocolate Box set is inspired by the decadent candy boxes that were sold in the 50s that were covered in gathered fabric. The set is gorgeous from the front with the adorable bow on the strap of the bra and the gathering details on the cups, but the star of this piece is the back, with the gorgeous heart on the high-waist knicker that draws inspiration from chocolate boxes of days past. I tried to get a picture of the back of this set on my own, but I didn't get a photo that I was happy with! I'm hoping to shoot this set on Monday so some better shots will come!

As seen in my post from earlier this week, the Chocolate Box set is lined with blue satin, so it has very little stretch. Rees recommended I size up in the briefs because of the lack of stretch so I ordered a large to accommodate the booty. They fit wonderfully and give a cheeky (pun intended) view of ones backside. The gusset is lined with cotton and a titch narrow and I find I do get a bit of a wedgie, but TMI, that may just be my ass doing it's thing, I don't know. I love the way these make my butt look but I find that I need a bit more coverage not to get a wedgie, but again, that may just be me personally.

Please excuse how tired I look in the above photo, I took it earlier after a VERY long day of running around the city to two universities sorting things out and doing an orientation. But I wanted to get a shot in the absolutely adorable Les Patisseries De Lala set that I ordered on a whim along with the Chocolate Box set. I was originally only going to buy one lingerie set, but I noticed how well this set was priced (£35 for the bra and £20 for the knicker), so I had to add it on to my order because it's so dang adorable and I already had my eye on it.

Another note about Miss LaLa Presents, they do free shipping for orders over £100 which is very nice, and gives incentive to buy a few sets. Especially as their stock seems to be running low on some styles!

Like I said above, I find the band on this bra a little smaller than the Chocolate Box bra, but I still have to wear it on the tightest hook. This doesn't bother me all that much though as the bra is still comfortable and suitable for everyday wear. I also have to adjust the straps to be as tight as possible on both bras, but I have to do this with pretty much every bra I own. I'm a small person and I have very little space between my shoulders and my breasts, so this is fairly typical for me and not really a reflection on the brand, just something I thought I'd mention.

What drew me to this set is the absolutely adorable pastries printed on the set. I must admit, I no longer have that big of a sweet tooth, but I just adore the way the print looks. It's really a beautiful design and so whimsical yet decadent. I'm also a sucker for kitschy food prints so it makes sense that I was drawn to this set. I also adore the little bows on the knicker and gore of the bra and the matching ruffles on the straps with the knicker. I love any sort of strap detail and I think it's something that a lot of designers overlook when designing bras. A little something on the strap really makes a bra a bit more special.

The set is lower priced than the Chocolate Box set and other sets because it's cotton. It is a nice alternative to all the silk and satin I have in my lingerie drawer and it's quite breathable on the body. The wings of the bra are powermesh and have more stretch than Miss Lala's satin bras. Though I suspect the wing is actually shorter because of the stretch that this wing has opposed to the satin wing.

The knickers also fit perfectly and comfortably in medium, because they have the stretch that briefs usually have. The back of the brief is turquoise lace with an adorable heart pattern that carries over on the ruffle at the front and on the strap. Again, the gusset is cotton-lined and quite comfortable. The back has fuller coverage than the Chocolate Box brief and I don't find it gives me a wedgie!

All in all, I'm very happy with both these sets and I'll definitely cherish them. It's not often you get a second chance to get your hands on an incredible discontinued set, along with other beautiful sets that are lingerie collectors items. People have been coveting this brand since they closed and the sets were very hard to come by before the company began selling lingerie again and stock seems to be low. I'm excited to buy from Miss LaLa Presents again, and if you like their lingerie, I'd suggest you buy it soon because I'm not entirely sure if these pieces will be restocked.

This lingerie is truly unique and special and I can't wait to wear it and get pictures in it!

What do you think of Miss LaLa Presents? Let me know in the comments!

bottom of page