top of page

Interview with Julia of Gigi's House of Frills!


Shot by Bruce Walker, hair and makeup by Judi Willrich, styling by Gigi's House of Frills

As a Canadian lingerie lover, buying lingerie online can be a bit of a challenge. You never know how an item will fit until it arrives on your doorstep and it can be such a pain to exchange sizes or return an item to another country. And don't get me started on those customs fees! I had constantly looked at lingerie from brands like What Katie Did, Dottie's Delights, and Playful Promises but didn't want to take the plunge buying online and getting an item that didn't fit properly.

Gigi's House of Frills bridged that gap for me and other pinup gals in the city. I remember seeing a poll on Facebook or something at some point in 2015 asking if I would be interested in shopping at a store in Toronto that specialized in vintage and vintage inspired lingerie. I absolutely was and expressed my interest and signed up for this company's email list. I heard back from them at the end of the year saying that they opened their shop and it was called Gigi's House of Frills and to follow them on social media to see their stock. I was thrilled! I went in when I just couldn't resist the Dottie's Delights short sheer dressing robe in lilac that they posted on Instagram.

I went in at the end of November of 2015 and had so much fun shopping and when I started working in the area, I'd be there during my break, after my shifts, and sometimes before if I got there early! A huge amount of my lingerie and vintage collection is from Gigi's and I've found so many amazing treasures there. I'm so happy that we have a brick and mortar shop in the city that can fulfill a niche interest and allow customers to try on items that they wouldn't normally be able to try before purchasing.

Gigi's and I have collaborated on a number of projects (I've been in a couple of their campaigns) and I love the company so much that I wanted to interview the owner, Julia, and discuss her love of lingerie and her amazing business. We've also shared lots of laughs and I genuinely enjoy spending time with her and visiting Gigi's!

Shot by Bruce Walker, hair and makeup by Judi Willrich, styling by Gigi's House of Frills

Tell us a bit about Gigi’s and what three words would you use to best describe the shop?

Gigi's is a specialty lingerie shop with a strong focus on vintage and vintage style lingerie. We also carry a selection of hosiery, both vintage deadstock and new, Besame cosmetics and vintage gloves. Our philosophy is lingerie shopping should be fun!! Three words: playful, classic, decadent.

When did you first discover your passion for lingerie? Was there an inspirational purchase or moment when you realized that you loved lingerie more than most people?

I was a child! I got swept up in a round rack of silky slips at a department store when I was 5. I felt overwhelmed and completely enamoured by the luscious fabrics! When I was a bit older, 11, I tried to sneak a frilly bow adorned thong in with our other family purchases at a Winner's (editor's note: Winner's is like a Canadian Marshall's) with my dad, he was not having it: "Hanes 3 pack for you kiddo!". By 16 I was buying and selling vintage lingerie to alternative girls in rural areas through the Internet !

Similarly, what drew you to vintage clothing and lingerie? How old were you when you started being interested in and buying vintage?

I was always around vintage clothing, as my parents would take my sister and I to the market often. I started shopping the market with my best friend at 11 and visited Goodwill and Value Village often, back then they were loaded with real vintage!

What does your lingerie drawer look like? Do you have anything really special you’d like to share with us?

Crammed!!! I have a dresser with one drawer each for knickers, bras and foundations. The top of it opens up like a desk and that's stuffed with about half of my hosiery collection that I actually wear. I have tons of unopened hosiery plus I save all the great packages.

"These are some of my favourite vintage bras, some I've never worn, some I save for occasional wear and some are in my regular rotation!" -- Julia

"My stockings collection is quite large and admittedly not organized in an attractive manner. These two pictured are both unworn and each feature beautiful printed welts! I just love the fonts of yesteryear! The framed stockings package us one of my many saved vintage packages! They're so beautiful, they're art...truly!" --Julia

What’s on your lingerie wish-list for your personal collection and for Gigi’s?

More stockings! Haha. The real deal vintage Schirapelli lingerie and 1930's Diana Slip knickers. For the shop, I'm always hunting for more Canadian designers and true plus size retro styles.

What made you want to open a specialty lingerie shop?

I had fantasized about owning a lingerie boutique for years! By my early thirties, I been a faithful What Katie Did customer for almost a decade, as they had the bullet bras, garter belts and seamed stockings that I wanted! But sometimes, especially with bras, I'd need a different size than my usual and returning back and forth to the UK was costly! I wondered why none of my favourite local boutiques were carrying What Katie Did, or other bullet bras or at the very least, garter belts that actually held your stockings up all day! So I decided to do it!

What made you take the plunge to open your own business?

I was a brunch waitress, and a happy one! But I had grown tired of customers asking or assuming I was the owner at my then long-time gig (6 years and from its inception!) , although it was very flattering, it made me feel like I had given my twenties to making other people's dreams. Which is valuable in itself. But, I was ready for a change and lucky enough to have an exceptionally supportive partner who is truly responsible for giving me the confidence to quit my job and just do it!

Are there any pieces that were just so special that you regret selling them?

Only one. I really take much joy in knowing these beautiful pieces are being lived and enjoyed!

Shot by Bruce Walker, hair and makeup by Judi Willrich, styling by Gigi's House of Frills

How do you source all the beautiful vintage items you have in stock?

Honestly, anywhere and everywhere. I feel like certain vintage dealers have a cosmic energy for specific types of pieces and sometimes it seems as though the vintage lingerie....finds me!

What items do you find customers are drawn to most?

That is hard to pinpoint! I definitely have customers into the foundations but not lounge and vice versa. Of course many are into all of it. I will say many people are curious about classic bullet bras and often presently surprised at how comfortable and wearable they are! Especially our fuller bust clients who thought they were stuck with wires!

What do you think people should know about vintage lingerie and lingerie in general?

People of all different shapes, ages and identities have been enjoying lingerie for over a century, if you love it, you should wear and enjoy it! Lingerie is fun and fabulous and while a great fitting bra is awesome, and we do have those, don't get too hung up on perfect fit for play and/or vintage pieces as you'll end up missing out on some real delights!

What are your long-term plans for Gigi’s?

To be honest, somedays it's a second location, other days it's an in house line but short-long term is a shoppable website....and maybe a part time employee!

Shot by Bruce Walker, hair and makeup by Judi Willrich, styling by Gigi's House of Frills

I hope you enjoyed this interview and I'm hoping to do more with other interesting lingerie folks in the future! Gigi's is one of my favourite places in Toronto and if you live in the city or you're coming to visit, I can't recommend it enough!

What are your thoughts on vintage lingerie? Let me know in the comments!

bottom of page