top of page

Lingerie in the city: Maude Nibelungen and Honey Birdette


Who ever thought that knits could be sexy? I didn't until I came across Maude Nibelungen's work a few months ago and fell in love. Maude is a fellow Canadian based in Montreal and her niche is making intimates made of thin wool knit with open stitches, allowing the skin to peek through in almost a sheer effect. She makes socks and stockings along with lingerie, chemises, and other outerwear pieces and they're all delightfully naught. This isn't your grandmother's knitting!

In this shoot, I'm wearing the Alice crop top and knicker with the Eddie bra by Honey Birdette (one of the many items I snagged during their 80% off flash sale at the beginning of July). The gorgeous turquoise wool is custom and not something Maude normally offers for the Alice set but she wanted to make something special for me to shoot in! I'm glad she went with this colour because it's so beautiful and went perfectly with the set photographer Danny Mejia and I shot this series at. Apparently, people loved seeing peaks of this set so much on Maude's social media, she got a few requests for more turquoise Alice sets!

We also shot a two more Honey Birdette looks I picked up in the flash sale that are no longer available. Like I said in an earlier post, if you're looking for good deals, wait until January and July! First we shot the Carla bodysuit which I've gotten so many compliments on because it's so unusual looking. I love a good high neck and I love how it's still sexy with the strategic cut-outs and beautiful sequin panels.

What I love about this bodysuit is that it's sized by cup instead of the usual S/M/L. I'm fairly petite but busty so either the cup is too small or the body is too large. However, bodysuits are still tricky because full busted sizes may fit too large for my body, but the Carla bodysuit fits great all over! I'm wearing a 34DD and the cup fits nicely and it fits well everywhere else too. I don't normally buy bodysuits even though I think they're beautiful because of the sizing issues but I'm glad I picked this one up because its so beautiful. I almost didn't get it but I couldn't stop thinking about it!

We also shot the lovely Miss V set (also no longer available) in white! I've slowly been adding more white lingerie into my collection but it's taken a while, especially since I love black so much. If a set comes in white or black, I'll most likely choose the black option. But the black bra was no longer available in my size or anywhere close to it and I loved the harness detail so much, I got it in white instead. I'm glad I did because I'm warming up to white and I love how angelic it can look. Miss V in white definitely has a different feel in the white colourway, it's innocent but still naughty with the bondage inspired harness. The harness can also be detached from the bra and it can be worn as a strapless bra which is nice for me because I have very few strapless options!

I'm wearing this bra in my true size, 32F and it fits very nicely. It's a nice strapless option and it gives a good amount of support. Like I've said before about Honey Birdette's bras, it's very heavily padded and provides a lot of cleavage. This isn't that big of an issue for me, just not something that I'm all that used to in my own lingerie. As someone who developed in a short period of time, I spent a lot of time trying to hide my bust and a lot of the bras I'm drawn to now are unlined and don't emphasize my cleavage that much. I know a lot of other women prefer not to have a lot of padding in their bras and it's always good to know before buying something online. Especially if you don't live in Australia because there aren't any brick and mortar Honey Birdette shops outside Australia that I'm aware of.

What do you think of Maude Nibelungen and Honey Birdette? Let me know in the comments!

bottom of page