top of page

Va Bien Bustier and Knicker


I couldn't resist posting another lingerie photo, this time in lovely a Va Bien bustier and knicker! Doesn't it look vintage? It really reminds me of some of the vintage merry widows I've seen during my vintage lingerie searching, and like some that I own in my own vintage collection. Va Bien has different styles of bustiers; some with more lace, some with less, some with a plunge, etc. I love how this one has a combination of lace panels and solid black fabric. What really gets me is the bullet style cups! You hardly see pointed cups anymore, everything is round in modern lingerie. But the bullet shape really throws it back to the 40s and 50s (my favourite eras of 20th century lingerie) and I think that's what really does it for me.

Va Bien has a charming backstory, they're a family business based in the US and have been running for decades. It started when a French girl ran off to New York and met a man who worked with his father in the lingerie industry. They got married and created their own company, Va Bien. They still run Va Bien and their son joined the company and now works as its creative director.

I'm wearing a 34DD and I'm glad that I sized down in the band from my usual sister size, 36DD, because I feel like it would have been too big. Sometimes I find that a 34DD fits better even though technically the sister size is 36DD, and in this case it does. The cup is a three-part cup which provides a nice amount of support, I feel like I could wear this for hours without it budging and I probably will. I have maybe one other strapless bra (there aren't many pretty ones out there, I'm bored of beige and black!) and it's older and isn't that comfortable. This piece feels great, almost like I'm not wearing anything at all! I've shied away from strapless and off-the-shoulder tops and dresses because I don't really have any strapless bras, but I feel like I could wear them with this bustier underneath! The knickers fit wonderfully too, I'm wearing a medium and they're very comfortable.

I also love the way I feel in these pieces, I feel like Sophia Loren in the 50s and 60s because the style is retro but also deliciously naughty at the same time. I love when shapewear makes me feel good about myself and is something I'd like to wear, because normally it's ugly and beige and not fun to wear. So thank you Va Bien for making pieces that are beautiful, sexy, and functional!

Check out the bustier and knicker I'm wearing!

What do you think of Va Bien? Are they a brand you'd like to try? Let me know in the comments!

bottom of page