top of page

Lana and Greta: An Evette Dubois Collaboration

Evette Dubois is a designer I've been following for quite some time, I found their work on Instagram and fell in love. They're doing something that I haven't seen much of in the vintage-inspired lingerie world, which is taking inspiration from 1920s and 30s loungewear pieces. Occasionally major brands like Chantal Thomass will look back to this era of lingerie for inspiration, they even made a range of Kestos inspired bralettes and matching knickers, tap pants, and camis. Indie brands also draw inspiration from this era, like Evgenia, whose Kestos inspired bralettes are gorgeous (and comfortable and fit great, I'm lucky enough to have one!).

But I've rarely seen a line that specifically specializes in this period of lingerie history, and that's what drew me to them. Their designs are so girly and dreamy, using light pastels and soft laces (true to the era, black and darker colours weren't introduced to mainstream lingerie until the 50s or so) and making pieces that not only look authentic to the period they draw inspiration from, but are wearable nowadays.

I've talked with them on occasion, mostly to gush over their Instagram stories, and we got to talking about a collaboration. Melissa, the designer for Evette Dubois, asked me if I had anything in mind and I immediately rushed over to Pinterest to find beautiful 30s loungewear pieces and start from there. We found a gown that we both liked and drew inspiration from there. This ultimately became the Greta.

Evette Dubois is based in Australia and I live in Canada, so it took about two weeks or so for the package to get to me, but Melissa told me that there was a surprise in it and I was so excited to find out what it was. It turns out she made another gown out of the material she had ordered for the Greta gown! I was so excited to open the gorgeous package to find that there were two gowns! The second one is the Lana.

I shot this set with a great Toronto photographer, Altovenue at Sugar Beach by the lake. The beach is known for its pink umbrellas so we decided this would be the perfect location to shoot these gowns. But we lucked out when we shot there because there were props set up for a film, which we later found out was a Disney film! It couldn't have been more perfect, shooting had ended for the day and they left their lovely set! It made the pictures even lovelier.

What do you think of Evette Dubois? Let me know in the comments!

bottom of page