top of page

Fluffy, fluffy Foo-Foos!


Shot by Frank Lam, hair and makeup by Samsara Brown, vintage loungewear from Gigi's House of Frills

While I love shoes as much as the next girl, I have to admit that I'm not that much of a shoe fanatic. I know a lot of women are obsessed with shoes and while I definitely have an obsessive personality, shoes are just something that I never really got into.

Then I discovered boudoir slippers and oh boy, did they capture my heart. I love anything that's over-the-top, ridiculous, and unnecessary and the idea that women wore fancy fluffy slippers while at home in the early to midcentury really spoke to me. I found my first pair of vintage boudoir slippers in a consignment shop one night while wandering the city after drinking with some friends and they were just too much. I should write about those and the other vintage boudoir slippers I have, but that's for a separate post.

Like many lovely things from back in the day, boudoir slippers aren't really sold anymore. Modern pairs can be hard to find and those that can rival the beautiful slippers made in the 50s can be even more difficult. But that doesn't mean they can't be found. UK-based Foo Foo Slippers is making the most divine, handmade boudoir slippers that are so fuzzy and luxurious that it's ridiculous.

The slippers are currently only made with a sheepskin upper, but they're working on a vegan option which I believe will be coming out soon. They have a wedge heel which adds a bit of glamour while still being comfortable enough to wear around. They also come in a huge assortment of colours and combinations and if that's not enough, they even offer a bespoke service where you can mix and match what colours you want your slippers to be.

Shot by Marisa Parisella, hair and makeup by Samsara Brown, gown by Dottie's Delights

I went with this lovely pink on pink option in my usual size 8 (UK 6) because I'm a sucker for anything pretty and pink. They came very quickly from the UK to Canada and I always appreciate fast shipping! They come in a beautiful dark brown box and come with their own dust bag which I thought was absolutely lovely. It also came in handy because I brought them with me later that week to Montreal and the fur would have gotten squished in my overpacked suitcase.

They fit true to size and the fit is absolutely perfect. They're very comfortable to wear and I actually wore them in my hotel room in Montreal because I don't trust hotel carpets. It also made me feel a little more glamorous as I drank matching pink wine.

The box the slippers come in, isn't it adorable?

I've worn these beautiful slippers for a few shoots now and I actually find them to be quite versatile with my wardrobe, mostly because it's a lot of frilly pink things I suppose. The craftsmanship is beautiful and they're so high quality that the price tag makes sense. They're £140 (about $180USD and $230CAD) but Foo Foo frequently offers discount codes and coupons for customers on their Instagram page.

I will say that the slippers are absolutely gorgeous and should be considered as an investment because they will last you a long time. I've even worn mine on the beach (just to shoot in, and I was careful!) and they're perfectly fine and just as beautiful as ever. They're so lovely that I keep them on display on my night table so I can look at them every day.

I hope you like them as much as I do!

Shot by Altovenue, wardrobe by Evette Dubois (who sadly closed her shop!)

What do you think of Foo Foo Slippers? Let me know in the comments!

bottom of page