top of page

Lusting After... Fifi Chachnil


Shot by Plastic Canon wearing Fifi Chachnil

I couldn't do a series of designers whose work I love without talked about Fifi Chachnil! I discovered the brand a few months ago and very quickly became OBSESSED! There's just something about the aesthetic of the brand that speaks to me on a very deep level. I adore how feminine and chic the lingerie she designs is. The first Fifi lingerie set is the one photographed above and when I put it on, I felt like a pretty lingerie princess and I was hooked. Perhaps it has to do with the ruffle on the elastic on the knicker that feels like a skirt, the adorable yellow bow at the top of the bra, or just the perfect pastel shade of pink with adorable polka dots? After getting this set, I went into Fifi mania.

Quickly I discovered Fifi's signature playsuits or "babyloos" and I fell in love with them. They're consistent in the collections and have come in a variety of fabrics and patterns and they're just the cutest little things in the world. What I also love is that they often match the lingerie collections and that makes my matchy-matchy heart sing in joy. On of my quirks is I need my lingerie to match, I know it's not necessary and that it can look perfectly fine if sets don't match perfectly, but deep down, all I want is a gorgeous perfectly matching set. I feel like Fifi is truly a woman after my own heart!

One of my lovely friends on Instagram sold me three of her babyloos at a discounted price (they're expensive!!) and they are just so lovely and beautiful. Two of them have matching lingerie sets and I tracked one matching set down in my size but I couldn't get the other. I found them on several European Amazon sites by the same seller and for some reason, the size and colour I wanted in the bra and in the knicker didn't ship to Canada. I feel bad for doing this but I was so persistent to get this set that I kept messaging both the seller and Amazon (the UK site, the Italian site, the German site, etc.) about why these items didn't ship to Canada. I never got an answer so if anyone sees an orange polka-dot Fifi Chachnil bra in 36D and brief in 38, please let me know!

In my obsession, I watched every Fifi Chachnil video I could find and wanted to learn more about the brand and Fifi herself. Fifi says many times that her inspiration for creating beautiful lingerie and clothing for women is the female form and drawing inspiration from silhouettes and styles from the 1940s and 50s. This is probably one of the many reasons why I love the brand! I think another thing I love about Fifi Chachnil is that it doesn't seem to be lingerie and clothing made for the male gaze (like a lot of lingerie is) but for women to wear for themselves. It's not overtly sexual (not that there's anything wrong with erotic lingerie, I love those styles too) and not just meant to be seen and enjoyed by a man, but the woman herself first. Her pieces are so delicate and feminine it's hard not to feel beautiful wearing them.

Along with lingerie, Fifi makes beautiful outerwear pieces that I also covet like her signature angora sweaters, dresses, skirts, blouses, and swimwear. The babyloos can also be worn on their own with a skirt or pants on top! I've also seen girls wear them on their own but I'm not sure I'd be comfortable having that much leg exposed myself! Fifi also makes a delicious smelling perfume that I've smelled before and needs to get my hands on. Along with collecting lingerie and vintage clothing, I've also spent over a decade collecting perfume and it's something I've become really particular about over the years. Fifi's scent is feminine but not overly sweet and a little spicy.

I also couldn't write about Fifi Chachnil without mentioning their amazing boutiques! Fifi has two boutiques in Paris and one in London and they're absolutely gorgeous. I'm dying to go some day! The decor is like a perfect girly pink heaven and I can't imagine not being happy amongst the beautiful pieces for sale and the stunning boutique itself. All three shops are decorated similarly and they all seem incredible. The shops themselves seem worthy of visiting all on their own!

What do you think of Fifi Chachnil? Let me know in the comments!

bottom of page